But what technology do you surround your sleepy face with first thing in the morning? We asked our writers, a group of people who live and breathe technology, who use it throughout their daily lives and who work in it as well, “What technology do you face every morning?”

Our Opinion

Undeniably for all of us it’s our smartphones. Damien reports that it has to be his phone. He always downloads all his RSS feeds so that he can read them on the move. Trevor is also checking his RSS feeds, but he’s also checking email, Trello, and Reddit on his phone and often catching up with people in different time zones. Derrik is checking Telegram and email.

Ayo reports that most of the time it’s his phone he’s facing first in the morning, as he uses it as an alarm clock. Himanshu does as well. Phil is more unique. He tries to avoid tech in the mornings as the light going into your eyes wakes you up artificially. He tries to start his day with mediation or Kum Nye. He notes that if you do screen-based activities close to bedtime it ruins your sleep pattern. That must be why iOS introduced the Night Shift feature. However, sometimes he just can’t help himself and falls prey to his iPhone as he, too, uses it as an alarm, and he gets caught up in the notifications which starts a chain of events. I seem to be the most involved with my phone first thing in the morning. I use a sleep app to monitor my sleep, so I’m closing that after I shut off my alarm. I check my notifications and then go through and read pertinent email, and while I’m there I check Facebook. I check the weather as well to see if it’s nice enough outside for a walk. And lastly I check my heart rate, as I’m supposed to keep an eye on that and check it from a resting state twice a day, so I check that in bed every morning. All on my iPhone.

Your Opinion

Are you as involved with your phone in the morning as our writers? Or are you trying to avoid it as much as possible like Phil? Are you using yours for an alarm and also checking email? What technology do you face every morning? Let us know in the comments below.